Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

28 Degrees

I had planned for my opening sentence to be something about our crazy cold frigid temperatures that we have been having here.........then the weather guy came on the news and informed me that my sister's town is 1 degrees today. Good thing she has that new puffy coat of hers that she loves so much to keep her warm.

So back to today's blip. I had been keeping my eye on the sun all day because my plan was to get a sweet shot of the mountain. The skies were brilliant blue and when I tried to get my shot this morning, the mountain was dark due to a large shadow. Around 4pm, I noticed that the sky had a pinkish tint and thought that if I could catch the mountain with the beautiful colors of the sunset, I would hit the jackpot for sure. My husband thought that he knew of the perfect spot for an elevated shot of the mountain so we bundled up the kids, grabbed the tripod, and jumped into the car.

As we were heading out, we kept catching glimpses of it and let me tell you this, it was breathtaking. The sun was starting to set, the colors were vibrant and the lighting was perfect. I felt like a kid on Christmas morning. I wanted that shot so bad. Soon, it began to feel like we were storm chasers. We knew that this moment would soon pass and wondered if we would get there in time. When we got to the spot, I got the tripod all set up but of course, the mountain looked much more magnificent to the eye than it did through my lens. My husband thought that he knew of one more spot, so we began "chasing the storm" again.

A half a mile from the new perfect spot, we passed this iced over waterfall. That was it for me. The chase was over. I knew that this needed to be my blip. By this time, the sun had almost set but the glow of the street lights above, gave the little pond some nice colors. The entire waterfall was almost completely iced over and the pond had several inches of ice covering it. It was cold but I was loving every minute of this photo shoot. For the first time, I am posting a blip that I shot in manual. This is huge for me as I have not yet learned all of the mechanics of my camera yet. !

I'd better end this journal with a quick deep thought. When the temperatures get this extreme, it makes me feel so completely grateful that we have a home to keep us warm and protected. My heart just hurts for those people who are less fortunate and face this kind of extreme weather on the streets. I wish that there was a solution, a global solution to this problem.

The end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.