Disowned

I have a confession to make.

Since moving to Germany almost seven years ago, we have pointed laughed at remarked upon the number of people walking with sticks, thinking that they're nordic walking, when all they're really doing is using the sticks for stability or as balast, there is certainly no active arm movement going on.

I have been very guilty of pointing the finger* and sniggering, but today I had a lesson in nordic walking.

I realise I need to give up on running, seeing as the achilles is still not happy and I am not keen on going to the docs to whine about it, and so nordic walking was suggested.

It's very tricky, almost as much exercise for the brain as the body, there's the correct foot/leg action, then the body position and then the arm swing and holding and releasing of sticks - all at the same time...no wonder everyone does it wrong!


* but not so that they could see it, that'd be silly, they might hit me with the stick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.