Box

I got the earliest train back to Edinburgh consistent with me getting to eat the hotel breakfast (quite good). The weather was the same pretty much all the way up the country (countries) - a gloomy all-pervading mist. There were alarmist reports about poor air quality in the papers, but I wasn't sure if I was being stifled by that or just by the usual ventilation/fumes/heating system in the Pendolino.

It was route that takes slightly longer but avoids a change at Crewe (I know, I know - I shall return!), so the train crawled through the West Midlands in the smog, via Birmingham New Street. I had noticed this brutalist building yesterday on the way down, but only today when I blipped it did I see that it had a name plate. I made it monochrome as an homage to Shandonner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.