RogMull

By RogMull

For Margo and Jim..

This afternoon I was sitting reminiscing about my brother Jim, the first anniversary of whose death is Sunday. I then glanced at the computer screen to see the announcement of the death of my friend of some 40 years Margo McDonald.

It was like being punched in the solar plexus. I just suddenly felt so down that my plan to head outside in search of an interesting Blip has been brushed aside.

I am thinking too of Margo's husband Jim Sillars, who has also been a friend for many years, starting when we were political opponents in South Ayrshire in 1974 (Jim won of course).

In the absence of something more appropriate, I thought I would Blip this dram that I am about to raise to my brother Jim and my friend Margo. It is perhaps appropriate to finish this Blip with the words Robert Burns wrote as an epitaph for William Muir:

If there is another world, he lives in bliss;
If there is none, he made the best of this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.