Huntsbury reservoir

Today I took the longest walk I've attempted post break up a sustained, steep hill. It took me past the Huntsbury reservoir which fascinates me.

My fascination stems from the loss of 36 million litres of water following the February 2011 earthquake. There are a lot of unanswered questions and theories, and they make a good read. It's gone somewhere and I'd say those residents have every reason to be concerned. Sometimes it's best to switch off my earth science background.

Much of the demolition and reservoir rebuild is complete. They used to work on Saturday mornings but not any more. I can get closer without glowering blokes unsure of my camera, but sadly those big locked gates kept me out (not that I didn't work out a way in, it was the getting out again bit that bothered me ;-)

I remember early one Saturday morning sometime during 2011, I was running in the valley below and encountered some guys with survey equipment. I asked what they were doing and they told me they were monitoring movement in the area of the Huntsbury reservoir high above. That gave me food for thought for the rest of my run!

I'm remarkably early with today's blip. I've also blipped yesterday's architecture. Now I need to back up my hard drive, do some more house sorting in preparation before I need to pack and move out for repairs, do some foot exercises and maybe (if the weather holds out), the fisher/hunter and I will slash the weeds over my back fence the creep into my garden. It's an empty section owned by a rogue property developer with no chance they'll take responsibility for their crap section.

The slow cooker is on with goose breast and recently added kumara (sweet potato). That comes later after the hard work, then we'll kick back and watch a movie.

Daylight saving ends tonight. Boo hoo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.