Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

damsel in distress

Thanks for indulging my nostalgic moment. Some beautiful comments that I will treasure.

Quite a contrast today, back to the brutal side of nature.

I was trailing this large robber fly in the hope of a good viewing angle. They don’t spend much time in the air, so I was able to disturb it into flight and it would only move a couple of feet before settling again.

As we were playing this game, a damsel fly foolishly flew between us and in a flash, the robber fly launched, captured and returned to the leaf with his dinner. If I had been shooting video, it would have been a rare capture. Still I am very happy with the resulting image, as robbers don’t usually go for prey larger than themselves.

It was brutal, the damsel had absolutely no chance!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.