Hull on Holy Island

Thanks for the feedback for yesterday's photo of Bamburgh Castle. I've never been to Northumberland before but I now see what I've been missing!

Although on Friday the clag and mist was so deep we were in danger of seeing nothing!

We drove up, 3 hrs, and stopped off at Bamburgh Castle. It was raining heavily so we spent a few hours indoors which was OK, but I'm an outdoors person, and wonderful and historic as it was, I wanted to see it from outside!

The mist stayed but the rain stopped so we walked a few miles to Seahouses and back and beyond and took hundreds of photo's of birds and beaches and flotsam and sand.

More here.

The beaches are amazing and vast! How can such a beautiful place be so quiet? Yet I know many people who've been? Magical.

We were staying at the Waren House Hotel, really nice, amazing food, a good base.

Saturday we headed out to Holy Island and were some of the first there - a terrific place full of atmosphere and the smell of the sea.

We wandered round the circuit of the island and soon found beaches that were deserted.

I took hundreds of photo's, some here, (only 9 or 10) that also include the second leg of our day which was a walk from Budle Bay across to Bamburgh. One of the most stunning beaches I've ever seen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.