Forest Primeval

This is what it looks like where it rains and rains and rains. Today was the overcast, sometimes sunny exception. Arvin, Helena and I went to Silver Lake today. To get there you take Mount Baker Highway east to Maple Falls and hang a left. Silver Lake is a county park. It has nifty little cabins you can rent and camp sites if you prefer. And there are tables and areas to play all along the shores of a lovely lake. We went for the afternoon and had a lovely walk. The woods are a mass of ferns, moss and fungi on old stumps and mossy covered downed trees. It is a great place to unwind and enjoy nature. I took lots of photos but didn't have time to process them all. I chose this one (large version) because I was so awed by the masses of moss that were everywhere we looked. And lots of ferns too. I liked the mysterious feeling of this photo so it became my blip. I do plan to post more photos on Chaikins of Bellingham but it will be a while.

On our way home we stopped at Il Cafe Refugio for Sunday dinner. Richard is a friend. A few years ago he had my paintings on the walls of his restaurant. He sold one which made me very happy. Today we talked about my doing another show there. I will figure out which paintings and send him a proposal.

The dinner was delicious. We had eggplant parmesan preceded by an amazing tart with raisins and celery in a perfect crust with fresh whipped cream. It was absolutely delicious. And from me this is a high complement as I am not a big fan of either raisins or celery. No matter. It was scrumptious. The salad was a white bean, lettuce and carrot salad. We finished with gelato. Oh boy. So much for a diet today.

We drove home and arrived by six. Now it is over two hours later and I still have just started my photos. It's time to go upstairs and join Helena and Arvin for a quiet evening of TV.

Cheers. Hope to have a bit of comment time later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.