Poppies at the Basilica Julia, The Forum, Rome

We spent several fascinating hours at The Forum & The Colosseum today.

At one stage I stood and looked at a plaque saying "Basilica Julia" and this came straight into my mind - learnt by heart when studying for my "O Grade" Latin at Marr College in Troon in 1968. It was a shock to recall it at the actual place, in perfect sunshine, 46 years later.

To: Sempronius Rufus "I had gone down to the Basilica Julia to listen to the speeches in a case where I had to appear for the defence at the next hearing. The court was seated, the presiding magistrates had arrived and counsel on both sides were coming and going; then there was a long silence, broken at last by a message from the Praetor. The Centumviral court was adjourned and the case was suspended, much to my delight for I am never so well prepared as not to be glad of a delay"

Letters of Pliny the Younger who lived from 61-112

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.