Bowling

Ha ha... this is a pun title. I didn't go bowling today. In fact I haven't for years. But I did take some photographs through the bottom of a glass bowl and this is one of them. Let me explain.

The day began late as I had difficulty sleeping and didn't wake until 9 am. Spent a quiet morning and then took off at noon to drop Helena off at an appointment and take Arvin up to Ferndale for his two hour "Staying Connected" session. He really enjoys them. I had called my good friend Judith in the morning to see if she could meet for lunch while I waited. She and her husband came to a new place for me, The Cedars, where I had lunch and they had coffee. It was great catching up. They had to leave half an hour before I was to pick up Arvin so I went to Tennant Lake in search of photos. I took some but they were lack luster.

Picked up Arvin and then we stopped at Trader Joe's on the way home to pick up cat food. Two shopping bags full, we headed back home. No. It wasn't all cat food. Not at all. ;-) Once you get in TJ's you just have to get this, and that, and, oh yes, that too. They had just got in a new order of orchids and we picked up two to brighten up our house. They are so lovely.

We got home and I fiddled with the photos I'd taken but I was still not overly thrilled with them. Then it was time to have a bit of an alcoholic beverage. I picked up the glasses and was about to put in ice and create a couple of Rye Manhattans when I noticed how cool stuff looked through the glass. Well that was it. I took a bunch through the glasses and then continued on. This photo (large version) was taken through the bottom of a glass bowl. I held it above some glass paperweights we made five years ago and voila! A blip was born. I did not do any fiddling except to enhance the detail just a bit. This is how things actually looked through the bottom of the bowl.

I'm looking forward to a quiet evening and tomorrow I paint. I love Wednesdays! Have a great day everybody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.