Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Eastern Phoebe

This small flycatcher is the first of the summer migrants to return to our area each spring. And while some of them migrate into Central America, many of them winter not that far south of us. In fact, one will occasionally overwinter in our area, although it is somewhat rare. Anyway, they started showing up here a few weeks ago - seems like everywhere I've been lately, I've heard their distinctive Phe-bee call. Today was my first good look at one this spring.

My friend, Cathy and I went to Wallkill and hiked the LIberty Loop which winds around a huge marshy area that is loaded with migratory waterfowl at this time of year. And we were not disappointed! There were hundreds of green and blue winged teal, ring-necked ducks, pintails, and American Wigeon as well as handfuls of Northern shovelers, Canada Geese and mallards. And, for the second time in my life, I saw a Eurasion Wigeon! I think Cathy is good luck, because the only other time I've seen one was several weeks ago when she and I went out birding. They are extremely rare here - as you may gather from the name, they are not endemic to North America. Every year, though, some of them find their way here, to the utter delight of birders. It was way too far out on the water for photographs, but we got a good look through Cathy's scope. Fun. We also had fun watching a couple of Harriers (raptors) hunting low over the marsh, scattering ducks each time they passed.

So it was a good day - lots of exercise and lots of interesting birds. And lots of newly emerged painted turtles - a sure sign of spring...

Happy Thursday, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.