If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Brambling (Fringilla montifringilla)

Not the best of shots but it is blipped for a number of reasons. The first is that it shows how the patterns some birds have helps the camouflage them. The back of the Brambling in particular (to me) breaks up the outline.

The second reason for having this as my blip is I was amazed when I spotted it in the garden. Bramblings are winter visitors from Scandinavia, we haven't seen many this winter and this male is the latest in the year we have ever had one in the garden.

Over the last 30 years Bramblings have increased in numbers in the UK over winter by more than 25% and a few remain and attempt to breed but as I haven't seen a pair I doubt we will be that lucky. Interestingly he is still in winter plumage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.