Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Back of Behind

Walked past an alley this morning, doubled back and ducked down it, took a few photos, wondered why they were totally blown out, realised the a/m switch was on auto, took some more photos of the alley, walked through, emerged to see the new Woolworths and Big W stores in behind Katoomba St. All bright and shiny, but I preferred this, across the lane:

Enlargerate.

Soligor 1:2.8/35mm on Pentax K-30. f/16 I'm pretty sure.

Popped in my roll of film to be developed. I'm such a damn hipster. ;-) It's my first roll of film in probably around 15 years. Odd feeling, knowing that someone else is going to see my photos, before I do, even the really crap ones, and I don't know what proportion of the 24 photos are going to be even worth a damn.

If I like the nature of the images enough, I'll have to decide what to do. This EOS5 is too damn clever by half: autofocus whirring everywhere; pops up the flash whether I want or no; no response to rapid shutter press because it's figuring stuff out... And no help from the book that my brother-in-law supplied, which is basically some guy short-stroking over the Church of Canon, saying this camera is so awesome you needn't bother with doing anything manually; just point it at anything, press the shutter release, and become some melding of Cartier-Bresson and Adams. I need to get hold of an actual manual for it. Even then though, the lenses, despite being around 17 years old, have no aperture ring, no distance scale, and believe it or not, no focus ring! You just twist the lens barrel itself. O_õ

I needs a K1000, precious. Hells, I drive my K30 as though that's what it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.