WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Playground

Note: needs to be seen large to appreciate the ripples.

Last week big yellow JCBs came and shuffled all my sand dunes about, clearing the boardwalks and rearranging the edges of the beach. This fine dune, which used to completely cover the boardwalk, is now just a small pimple. I'm sure within weeks the inexorable drift will have reasserted itself though.

Today was the first day there were significant numbers of people on the beach doing anything other than kite-surfing. Groups of kids slid down the dunes or rode bikes along the boardwalk. These teenagers were sitting on top of a dune taking selfies. I imagine that by the end of the week, the holiday mood will have taken over.

We went to another lagoon we haven't yet visited, and walked round it. It wasn't that interesting as there was little bird life in evidence (I did see a glossy ibis and a cormorant though). However I took the opportunity to continue my project of photographing vernacular architecture. Or to put it another way, several more huts were photographed (none as cute as yesterday's).

We stopped in Deltebre for shopping and a small lunch but I was feeling a bit feeble as I seem to have managed to catch another cold. So we headed back home to sit in the terrace, before a quick stroll on the beach, which gave me a chance to continue indulging my dune obsession. Until I took this, my blip for today was going to be a flatscape, taken from the car window (contains huts).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.