The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Dr T's tip-off

I had an email from Dr T late last night to tell me that a steam engine would be coming from the direction of Grange, crossing the Arnside Viaduct at 1815 hours. I checked one website at lunchtime, which said there had already been a steam engine over the viaduct heading towards Grange in the morning. So I began to wonder if Dr T had his dates mixed. As if...as soon as I came within sight of the viaduct, the hordes of steam buffs confirmed he was right. The Scots Guardsman came through pretty much spot on time.

I'm not sure if Dr T will approve of this shot as it doesn't show off the livery of the engine and its carriages. But I wanted something different to what everyone else was taking, so I went for a shot into the sun to try and find a bit more drama. The starburst through the steam was a bonus. And sorry, Dr T, I left Gus at home, he had his third walk of the day afterwards.

It's been a busy and productive day. I used the hours of cold, windy greyness to start the editing of the photos from Baby Oliver's christening 7 weeks ago. His mum and dad have been very patient, but I don't want to keep them waiting any longer. I was a bit anxious about being the "official" photographer, I'm not much good at people photos, dogs and cows are much easier - but I'm quite pleased with them so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.