The Thief

Hard to choose today. In the morning I was puttering around with a small vase filled with glass pieces and water. The pieces came from one of our glass blowing art friends. I think it was from Brian Kirkvliet who does amazing work at his studio called Gossamer Glass. In the winter he makes fantastic glass pieces. In the summer he runs an organic family farm where he offers classes. It is called Inspiration Farm. We got our two wonderful kitties from his family. They started life as barn kittens but are now living with willing staff who pamper and care for them. Not to say they weren't cared for before we got them. Brian's daughter Rosie and her friends raised them with love and affection. And they weren't allowed out in the dangerous world so it was not hard to turn them into indoor kitties when the arrived at our house. Anyhow, I digress.

So I took some photos of Brian's wonderful scrap pieces in water and this one was my favorite. I planned to blip it.

Then as the sun grew warmer and the day more delightful, I decided to give extra peanuts to the jays on the deck and see if they might be more cooperative about moving about for my camera. I spent quite a bit of time sitting and standing on the deck and inside the bedroom sliding door taking photos. I admit I was enjoying the sun more than worrying about what I got. But I did quite like the one I got as a bird took off right in my direction with his or her peanut. Click here for the large version. So in the end the bird won.

Later in the afternoon Arvin, Helena and I went to Silverado to visit our friend Eve. It is an assisted living place for people with memory issues. Arvin and I had wanted to check out the place anyhow as part of our creation of a directive for his care which specifies where he might want to go if need be. Fortunately he is doing very well and does not need such a place yet, but it felt good to get a tour and the feel of the place. We both felt very good about it and will put it on the list in the directive. It was also great to see Eve after too long a break.

At five Dave and Nora came up from Anacortes for dinner. Steve had just gotten home from a two week hiking and camping trip to Utah so he joined us too. I cooked rock fish with lobster bisque soup over it, roasted vegetables and black rice. It all tasted quite delicious if I do say so myself. We all talked and ended the night with a game of Mexican Train which Nora won. It was a really fine day.

Thanks to Chrissybelle for the title suggestion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.