Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Architectural rhythm

On the way to the music session, I stopped off at Elm Park on the Merrion Road for a half hour or so. This office and residential development has always fascinated me (though I know many others consider it an eyesore). It's looking a bit sad these days, to be honest, having suffered severely from the bursting of the property bubble. Some of the offices are occupied, but I've heard stories of people taking a short-term rental in one of the apartments and finding themselves in the only occupied unit on their floor.

Also, the architects made some ill-considered choices of finishing materials. The Irish climate really isn't suitable for the exterior use of timber cladding, and the timber areas are now badly stained and discoloured. But still I find the architecture interesting and rather exciting. I'd need a lot more time to explore and to play around with angles and so on, but I did get a few shots which were reasonably okay. This one is the most successful.

The rest of the day, back home after the music session, was quiet and uneventful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.