A Grey Day at the Railway

Built in 1920 by the London Midland Company, loco LMS 4F No. 43924 is the last surviving true Midland 4F locomotive. It also has the distinction of being the first loco to be rescued from Barry Scrapyard at the end of steam. It was extensively overhauled and returned to use on the Keighley and Worth Valley (preserved) Railway in 2011. Despite the fact that it is officially spring, with flowers blooming and the leaves on the trees bursting forth, it was very grey and extremely chilly on the railway today.
PS. To all who viewed, commented, starred and favourite my little garden snail yesterday, a huge, huge thank you. You elevated her to Spotlight! I was thrilled and humbled, but mainly I was surprised, amazed, astounded, astonished, bemused and even a little bewildered by this honour. But I didn’t let that stop me going about all day with my head in the clouds!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.