Imagerie

By vicki43

My Mom's Hands

Sorry to change the photo, but last night I thought this was too dark to use so I didn't even look at it. But it's the one I want in my journal when I buy the book. Thanks to all of you for the lovely comments on my mom trying to hide her face, but this photo speaks to my soul.

Pete, Woody, Frankie, Roxy (yes, we still have her) and I drove down south of Seattle to see my mom, who is 93, and two of my brothers today. The dogs had fun playing with my brother's chorkie called Lady while we had dinner and visited. Here are my mother's hands.

When I made arrangements for the visit weeks ago, I hadn't seen the Shakespeare challenge word for today, gnarled. When I did, I immediately thought of her hands, which are gnarled with arthritis. Despite that, and aside from her short term memory and hearing loss, which means we went around yelling all day and are now hoarse, she's still my beloved mom. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.