Transitoire

By Transitoire

Ce qui diable se passe ici?

What the hell is happening here?

The honest answer is, I don't know. These statues have appeared in Place Saint-Sauveur, and apparently are by a Dutch artist. They are called 'La Caravane' and are made up of five statues of aluminium...which cost the town in excess of 200,000 euros. Personally I don't think they are worth that much. I mean, they look pretty and all...and they do make a good photograph, but that is pretty much it!

After a morning with Thomas, I met up with Natasha, the new assistant at my school. A small world, I knew her before she even went out to France as she is also a Warwick student. Quite frustrating really to meet up with her, as it seems that she has done nothing at all to try and integrate. She said she never spent lunchtimes with the teachers, and seemed surprised when I said how I would go out for meals and drinks with them (well, you need to be there to be invited!), and how she had stayed with the English speaking assistants. The majority of my friends are French in Caen, and she seemed surprised as to how I made them (I went out, I made friends). She also had come over to France with her non-French-speaking boyfriend which must have not have helped. She asked me what she could do to improve her French with only a month or so left (as she was going to leave as soon as her contract ended?!), and then I found out that they didn't even go to the cinema, or the readily available political debates around town. Seems strange to be so closed to new things. I can't let it frustrate me too much though...it is not my life, and everyone is different.

After lunch with Natasha, I went to meet Mathieu for a catch-up...but also to say goodbye. A week passes so quickly when you don't want it to. We ended up having a drink, then heading around the town, up to the castle, around to the Mairie and the Abbaye aux hommes and down all the little side streets...just so I could see the town again. This photograph was of course taken on our wanders. There were a lot of beautiful ones to choose from, but I decided that this one would be the best, as it is a view that has not been blipped before.

In the evening I went to the cinema with Thomas, Thibaud and Cyril to see 'Her'. Yes, I know, I said that it is good to watch films in French, but the boys wanted to see it in version originale...and who am I to argue? I really loved the film, although Thibaud and I got told off for "chatting" by Thomas (we weren't!!)...I will admit we got the giggles during a "sex scene" though!

Lovely day, I wish that they didn't have to end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.