ONE STEPS FROM ONE NURSERY

to the other, Egyptian geese babies everywhere! Ducks babies too, the tiny ones.
But the little baby coots florish well too. and many coots still warming her eggs.
I had oatflakes, the soft ones, with me when I walked to the pond. Father and Mother let me come near, have an eye mostly on the heron and the gulls.
I sit in the grass, looking at how the babies eat, amazed at their eagerness, and their almost streetwise behaviour. Then suddenly the run to the shore of the pond, jump in the water, jump out of it, sit down very close to each other, preen a bit and fall asleep. One is sticking head up, another seeks a warmer place. Silence, peace.
One of them is my blip for today. She tries to eat a green leaf.
The weather is colder, windy and later in the afternoon it rained just a bit.
A little nap seemed appropriate and worked for me well.

My haiku:

Running in the grass
Following their big mother
Father at the watch

And the proverb:

Goed voederen kost veel, maar slecht modderen nog meer.

Translation: Feeding well costs a lot, but badly dredging still more.

Father swan in the golden pond was so well received, I loved to read the lovely comments, felt happy to collect the stars and the hearts as well.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.