Journey Through Time

By Sue

A Fun Surprise

It's not everyday you run into Scheherazade in your local tulip field, but I did! While her photographer was busy doing something she nodded that I could take her photo and I leapt at the chance...although the photographer got a bit miffed and said it was a "private photo shoot". But I got the shots, so there, fancy photographer with a model! HA! And I knew...if any of these turn out, I have my blip.

I got up early and believe me 6 a.m. is early for me, got ready and picked up auntie and off we went. The hardest part was getting out of Portland in the morning traffic. But we arrived safely at the Wooden Shoe Tulip Festival in Woodburn, Oregon. The company rotates their tulip fields and we were in a different area than I'd been in a few years ago. It was still early morning, but the way the fields were laid out, I think the tulips would photograph better in the early evening hours. To get the sun to my back meant that sometimes the background wasn't the best what with cars and porta potties in the distance. Ick. Then after the field shoot, we drove around back into the main gate to the main parking lot and then we could eat and look in their gift shop and walk around the display garden. I did whittle down my photos as best as I could for now. They are in this Flickr set. You can see some more shots of this pretty girl there. It was a hard choice but I did like her pretty smile in this one. This made my day, I can tell you that right now.

After we left the tulips, we stopped at some factory outlet stores that are in Woodburn and looked at a few things, but I was getting so tired, as was my aunt, so we grabbed something to drink at a fast food joint, and came back to Portland to drop off Auntie and then to my house and even though I wanted to collapse in a heap, I quickly uploaded my photos to see how my belly dancer came out. Not bad, huh?

Enjoy!! See ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.