AN EARLY SHOOT WITH MISCHA

and it happened that we felt the winter had come back somehow. When we walked along the pond where many geese live, two little heads came peeping out under the watm feather of mother and seconds later more heads appeared.
We had great fun in taking pictures, at last 13 goslings came under her warm coat and enjoyed the oat flakes we gave them. Mischa's funny picture you can see here.
Some steps further another nursery with even smaller babies.
I had to go to my appointment with the dental hygiënist and went to the Clingendael park afterwards. A lot of birds live there.
But first I had seen a red squirrel crossing the cyclist path, a first for me there.
At the pond in Clingendael I saw one heron standing legs deep in the water, but soon enough the second came flying over my head, landed in a tree, and more came and chased each other around.
The scene I watched did me remember the herons I had photographed in the Zuiderpark before we went to Germany. How strange that I had completely forgotten about them. I will go soon there with Mischa and see what new developments have occured there.
After my stay in Clingendael I cycled back home, had to drink hot herb stock and eat some sandwitches. Mischa came over, we drank tea and then Piet Hein came back from a visit to a friend that he had not seen for such a long time.
He felt full of enthusiasm of her ideas about environment and her concern of how humans use earth and (probably?) animals too.

My haiku:

How regal they look
Standing in the water face
Down how different in fight

And the proverb:

Zijn/Haar gelaat belooft geene beursche peren.

Translation: His/Her face does not promise overripe pears.

No explanation is given and I wonder what meaning this one could have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.