Not every day

By ppatrick

Hilly, not hillbilly

Paharganj (Hindi: पहाड़गंज, Urdu: پہاڑ گنج, Punjabi: ਪਹਾੜਗਂਜ, literally 'hilly neighbourhood') is a - well, let's say busy - neighbourhood of Central Delhi, located just west of the New Delhi Railway Station. I was planning to stay in a cheap hotel there on my first overnight in Delhi at the end of March, but was hijacked by crooks and tricked into staying in an expensive hotel south of Connaught Place. On my return three weeks later, I was more sussed and managed to get where I wanted to be. This is just along Main Bazaar Rd from my hotel. A good introduction to the crazy, dirty, irresistible bustle of an Indian city. The previous night I was sipping champagne at the Sydney Opera House: something of a contrast.

Best viewed large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.