Gavlars Journal

By Gavlar

End of an Era

Last weekend I went on a Trail Ride in Taupo which is one of around 20 or so organised rides throughout the Bay of Plenty / Waikato regions held each year.

I have been riding at these events for the past 20 years and have finally come to the conclusion that it's time to hang up my boots and helmet and sell my motorbike.

I've enjoyed this past time immensely - meeting new friends, endless banter with old mates, and a couple of great years with my son and his mates through their teenage lives.

I been very fortunate not to injure myself seriously and would be lying if I didn't think my time was up on a dozen or so occasions.

The greatest buzz I have had from riding is the adrenalin rush for being out of control on many occasions and struggle with the thought of having to ride at a slower pace.

While I will miss the sport it's time in my life to find a new pastime to stimulate this youthful brain in crazy head of mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.