Not Just Another Happily Ever After Story

Horse and carriage (and footmen) for ride to fancy dress ball . . . much smaller than anticipated.

-------

Happily Ever After: the conversation . . .

"WHOA! Disney princess much LARGER than anticipated! Somebody call the Transporter, stat!"

"We can't do it, captain! We can't defy the laws of physics!"

"Where are her glass slippers? Does somebody have her slippers!?"

"Let's sit her on top! Like a float!"

-------

Photographer's note: If I'd have been able to find a tiny magic wand and dressed one of the Crittergators up as the Fairy Godmother, that would have been even better, of course. But you might be surprised how difficult it is to find costume elements that little! And yes, there are indeed laws of physics to consider, but let me remind you, dear reader: There Must Be Magic. And the magic makes all things possible . . . ! So the young lady in question shall have her carriage ride, and her dance at the fancy dress ball, and her happily ever after.

A special shout-out to my little niece Kaylee, who is eight, for lending me her Disney princess figurine. Thank you so much; I couldn't have done it without you! And a second shout-out to my online friend JCH4K, whom I've never met in person but whom I've been friends with for years, who mailed me the horse and carriage (it's actually a pencil sharpener, by the way) to use in my Crittergator photo shoots. Much obliged, to both of you! Thank you for helping to make the magic possible.

The song to accompany this image is Ilene Woods, with So This Is Love, from the Disney film Cinderella. I'm including both the clip from the animated feature, as well as a clip from Monday night's Dancing With the Stars TV show, in which Derek Hough and Amy Purdy waltzed to the tune. (Amy Purdy's story is an inspiring one; read more about her here.)

Bonus Question: Bonus points to anyone who can tell me what's wrong with this picture. If you have an eight-year-old niece or daughter or granddaughter around, she can probably tell you in an instant! I will post the answer here tomorrow . . .

Answer to Bonus Question: The figurine of the Disney princess used in this photo shoot is actually NOT Cinderella, but Princess Aurora, also known as Sleeping Beauty. My two choices in Disney figurines available from my little niece were Sleeping Beauty and Ariel (the Little Mermaid). In this photo, Sleeping Beauty is wearing the ball gown from the famous last dance to the song Once Upon a Dream (where the fairy godmothers keep changing the gown from blue . . . to pink . . . to blue . . . to pink). Thank you, Sleeping Beauty, for doing an awesome job of playing Cinderella for the sake of my little photo shoot. :-)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.