Engine Driver

I had to go down to Hokitika today for the funeral service of a friend.

There were high winds and lots of rain but we didn't realise just how bad the weather was until we saw the civil defence call out as we drove through Greymouth. We got to Hokitika to find out that most of the main coast roads were closed. The only one open today was the one we went in on. Lousy weather for sure - but that sort always seems appropriate for funerals.

On the way home the weather lifted a little at Ngahere so we were able to get out of the car for a stretch and for Sebastian to have a bit of a play on the old steam engine. He had a wonderful time being the train driver.

Unfortunately as we were leaving I slipped over in the muddy grass - landed flat on my back and whacked my head a beaut. Must have looked hilarious though didn't feel that way!

I must have been a bit more affected by it than I thought because when we finally got home I had a dizzy moment and fell over again. This time doing something nasty to my foot and a knee. I'm heading off on holiday tomorrow so I figure if I just ignore it maybe it'll be okay in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.