WorldLens

By worldlens

Taste Test

My friend and I were sitting in the mall when I commented on the fact that the stores Dunkin' Donuts and Mister Donut were right next to each other. Many of my Thai friends favor Mister Donut saying it has a more Asian dessert flavor and texture while Dunkin' Donuts is considered more of an American brand. I had to look it up online, but both stores originated in the United States. Dunkin' Donuts "aquired" Mister Donut in 1990 and most of the names were changed.

Back to sitting in the mall...

We decided we should do a taste test. Originally we wanted to test the plain donuts, but Dunkin' Donuts was out. Does that mean they are more favored or they just don't make very many because most people prefer the fancy kind? I don't know.

I got the twist from both stores instead. We were interested in the actual doughnut, not the frilly condiments. Upon first analysis, the Dunkin' Donuts twist was bigger, had a better shape, and cost 27 baht. The Mister Donut twist was smaller, didn't have as nice of a form, but only cost 10 baht.

As I took a bite of the Dunkin' Donuts twist, I noticed it seemed firm, more like bread with a sweet glaze. It had a bread smell and good flavor but was a bit dry for my preferences. The Mister Donut twist was light and airy, gently submitting to my bite and filling my mouth with a delicious flavor. It had a solid doughy smell and sweet outer glaze.

I had a couple more bites of each, but if you want a twisted doughnut, I suggest buying it from Mister Donut. Maybe next time we will have to give the specialty doughnuts a try.

Do you have a favorite?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.