Working on the replacement

Today I took a run in the middle of the day; through the parks to Coxs Bay, before heading uphill to Jervois Road and home via Three Lamps and Ponsonby Road. On the last short piece of road before Coxs Bay Park, is a large white concrete block wall. Over the last few years there has been a series of murals with this type of block painting.

Ollie is the artist featured here. On either side of him were a couple of mates each doing his mural; one had been completed and three were being worked on as I went past. I stopped and took this photo and a couple of others. I then asked Ollie about the work.

He told me that they have creative freedom. The paints are provided by the owner of the wall. In conversation I commented to him that the murals appear to discourage taggers. He agreed, contrasting their murals (which attract few taggers) with the expanse of white wall below a billboard rather to the left of where this is. The owners have to paint out the taggers very regularly. It is about a year since the previous murals were put here, and tags were rare.

They still occur though, and apparently one of their group is in conversation with the owners to provide a retainer to keep the murals "clean and tidy".

Assuming these are letters I am able to make out (right to left) 's', 't', 'h', 'g'. Ollie is in the way of the other one or two letters. Maybe I've got it wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.