Riverdale2

By Riverdale2

Whitby

My oldest son likes to get out and about and has spent many pleasant weekends in the past exploring the vastness of the Yorkshires with his friends.

His circle of friends has remained largely unchanged since he was at school, with the addition of a few from college and now work but, as time goes by, they're finding their lives are diverging. They are all still in touch but work and family commitments mean they can't spend as much time together as they used to. He's home this weekend and found himself today with no-one to play with. Except me and his dad.

He took us for a lovely day out; first to Scarborough for a fish'n'chips lunch (except I don't like fish so I only had chips) then on to Whitby. We had to park at Whitby Abbey as all the town car parks were packed solid so there was a lot of walking involved. We managed to avoid the 199 steps down from the abbey to the town by taking a lesser known route - only 71 steps and some steep slopes. Easy enough on the way down; it's the getting back up that's the problem. It was all worth it though.

I took some much better pictures than this one but this is the only one with my son in it and as the day was thanks to him I thought I'd give him a starring role.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.