Reed Bunting

Today was my birthday so I tried to see as many bird species as I am years.

I failed - too old :-)

I did enjoy seeing 51 species during the day. This Male Reed Bunting was one of the most attractive birds I saw during an afternoon trip into sunny South Yorkshire. A couple of my favourites were a bit more camera shy but still great to see so many.

The most spectacular bird of the day was the Peregrine Falcon I saw on an early morning walk into my local hills. As a walked up a hillside I realised it was quiet, very quiet, too quiet ... all the small birds knew the Peregrine was there long before I did.

It must have been high above me but soon it was dashing down the valley to my right and I think it either misjudged its prey or was simply suprised when a pair of Curlew flew up at it. It climbed high and fast and was gone. The Curlews had plenty to say about it and soon Lapwings were calling and the small bird contact calls started up.

I'm sure the Peregrine would be back or would have caught something in the next valley and I guess it could take a Curlew, big as they are, if really tried.

First and Last: first bird of the day was Great Spotted Woodpecker - a regular hammering on the telephone pole outside my house; last birds just as the light was fading a pair Dipper :-)

Lots of nice cards and presents for me today but none better than that Peregrine !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.