Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At home: Crash landing.......x

A plane crash landed into the field near the house.

Yes, the event was about as random as it writes. There I am, laying in the dentist chair the other day and I get a text message. "Did you know there is a crash landed in potato field?"

There is many replies that run through my head to my fingers. Mostly I am annoyed that I missed the commotion. Apparently there was also 3 helicopters and police cars too. I lay there, imagining the damage that the high soil ridges would do to the underside of the plane. As it turns out the pilot managed to glide the plane onto the field and landed there wheels clearly in the furrows. he lost the nose cone of the plane and the propeller. No one was injured thankfully.

The last couple of days have been all about salvaging and dismantling the plane. We met the pilot and some other people from the cotswold aero club armed with spanners. They told the boys that dismantling a plane was rather like taking a car to pieces. You need to label all the parts and then you know where they go when you put it back together again. Sam thought his lego training would be a useful skill to mention at this point, hoping for some dismantling action.

Sam managed to get himself a quick run down in how not to crash a plane and were offered a warm welcome at the aero club. They were hoping to take the wings off this evening. I say wings, it turns out the wing is actually one wing, threaded through. I realise that my paper planes are not so far off the real deal after all. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.