Reflections on Goatfell or a White Blonde will do

As it was Easter Friday and my wife was working I decided to drive down to Ardrossan and get the 9.45am ferry to the Isle of Arran.

It was such a stunning day I think everybody in the west coast of Scotland had the same idea, as the ferry was full.

When I got to Brodick I made my way along the beach and the Golf Course towards Brodick Castle. I stopped off at Wineport for a refreshment and decided to have a White Blonde. It is an Arran Beer in case you were wondering.

I then made my way up the Goatfell trail along with hundreds of day trippers. Around the plateau I went off the trail to this burn. It was fabulous having this all to myself, but it was not easy getting to the burn as the ground is like a bog.

On the way up the trail I met Sandy who was making his way down the trail. Sandy was interested in my camera and we chatted for a while about cameras. When I got back down to Brodick, Sandy cycled over to me and asked how I got on. By this time I looked liked a beetroot and my legs felt like jelly. We got talking about Mackintosh and things and I mentioned that I photographed Liz Lochhead at the opening of the Reid Building last week. Sandy then told me he went to school with Liz. It definitely is a small world.

To finish off my day in Arran I had dinner in Fiddlers on a recommendation from Sandy. The haddock and chips with mushy peas was excellent. As my whole body was hurting I needed another White Blonde to pep me up.

Cheers to a fabulous experience on Arran.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.