Brotographer

By Brotographer

Low Angles Are Unflattering?

Impromptu trip to Bruges today with the family!

I might have forgotten a little bit about what photography is meant to be in the last couple of years… Or maybe I never really knew. I got caught up in knowing all the technicalities so I could teach them in training sessions with Photosoc, then didn’t teach enough about what many photographers really actually want to be doing, which is creating pieces of art. Real life paintings based on beautiful geometry, lighting, shapes, emotions, abstraction, composition etc.

Not that this photo is a piece of art, but I enjoyed calculating the perspective. Like it or not.

So check this out, after a week of picking up only my film camera for the occasional thought-out shots in Paris and being reinvigorated by the HCB exhibition, turns out it felt very different to be handling my D5100. I just wish it wasn’t exam period coming up, literally the biggest photography killer. I also wish I had smaller cameras and lenses. Next stop hopefully a 28mm or 50mm for the Pentax. Maybe a 35mm for the Nikon.

Oh and Bruges. Beautiful town, sort of a Belgian incarnation of Amsterdam in a way. We walked around for a long time, soaking up the picturesque town. Spotted a couple scenes of the movie In Bruges as well, which was cool.
A great trip!

peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.