Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

In Honor

AB came into my life as Paul's best man. As a friend, and as a man,he has been one of the best that I have known. He has always had the capacity to see the deeper meaning of every situation. During the process of his last several months, we worked together to get a close knit group of people ready to assist in the event that he and his wife needed more support than they had readily available on any given day.

We had a couple meetings to discuss the ways we could be a support, but his mind was busily working on the ways that such an effort could be expanded on, creating the foundation for future teams that would be able to help others in need. Everything for AB was the beginning of something. His message to us resonates: service, don't be afraid to just start something, anything to help others.

When unsure of how we could best be of help, Paul and I packed up the ingredients and came over to make breakfast. For AB, this was ground breaking! Traveling waffles! When you don't know how to help, go make waffles! "This could be the start of something" he proclaimed. Then he laughed and laughed while Paul told him his favorite story of how to make waffles. Ask Paul sometime, a story worth hearing if you have the time.

We gathered together today, to honor our friend, his beloved wife, and one another. In the wise words of AB, this could be the start of something.


Gathering my wits about me, and re-orienting myself to life, less than 2 weeks ago, we were with our great nephews and AB was still with us. It was the beginning of a very difficult week for him. We are grateful he no longer has to fight to breathe.

On April 11th, AB passed from this world to eternity. The same evening, I shared some of my favorite blips of AB with his daughter. On Sunday, April 13th, she published her first blip. I'd like to introduce you to his daughter, whom I have rapidly grown to love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.