Sheepish Contraptioneer

By PaulCCB

Honoring a Friend

Arriving on the scene of the upcoming memorial, I stopped and caught a quick capture of the collage that I put together for the event.

This collage was a real labor of love and teamwork, with several early shots provided by the daughters, which rounded out the assortment of photos that we already had.

I went into the event expecting to be my usual calm and cool self, having no idea that honoring a friendship of this magnitude just might have a bit of an emotional element causing me to lack a bit in the composure department.

I was not the first to stand at the lectern, nor was I the last. But when I stood there looking at 100-odd (some odder than others) faces of some of my closest friends, I was a bit in awe of how many there were, how I knew each of them by name, and how I shared my friendship with them and with our recently departed cohort.

I didn't have a prepared speech, preferring to speak from my heart as the spirit leads. I felt that I was a rambling basket-case and I couldn't say afterward what I actually said from the lectern, but I'm told that I spoke well. Good. I do better when I can stay out of the way.

Tonight I feel very drained, which I'm told is normal when working through a day of grief. I also feel very much a part of the human race, and at ease in my soul.

Life goes on, a bit different than it went a while back. But still, life is good and for me it's not over yet.

Tomorrow is another new day, and it is my job to revel in the joy of that day.
I think that's a job I can do, one day at a time with help.

Now for a good night's sleep so I can fully celebrate Easter tomorrow, and I wish everyone the happiest Easter they can stand.

Gratitude is the key that fits any lock.

~:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.