Elite Champion Aidan!

We can't have an orienteering weekend without an orienteering blip! We were back on the high moorland of Llangynidr today for the third day of the JK International Festival but the second day of the Individual event (both days' results are combined for an overall individual placing).

All my blips yesterday had gorgeous blue skies and orienteers in their finest athletic gear. Today the low cloud combined with mist when we arrived at the linear parking mid morning and the weather went downhill from there. Officials were busy telling everyone that cagoules were compulsory and by the time Tony and I reached the start area the sky was greeny grey and thunder was heard, followed by a dramatic flash of lightning and a crashing boom which rolled across the hills below us. There were some nervous glances exchanged between competitors and jokes made about tall competitors but thankfully the thunderstorm passed through.......then the rain arrived.

When I reached the highest point of the area it was blowing hard straight at me and pouring down. I had a long leg between controls and all I could do was set my compass and follow it as best I could, watching out for recognisable features en route.

Not the most enjoyable of events but Tony and I are pleased with our overall performances. He finished 18th out of 109 competitors and I had my best JK result ever I think, finishing in 14th place overall out of 74 competitors, woo hoo!

All of which brings me to my blip. Despite the awful conditions, this is Aidan in his vest, one of our ex Yorkshire Junior Squad members, finishing in 1st place in the Men's Elite class having run 17k in that weather! Well done Aidan!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.