Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Northern Red-Bellied Snake

It was a lovely, sunny Spring day today so we took a wander through McKenzie Marsh in Aurora - a frequent source of photos for blipping (such as a pair of singing tree swallows last week). In the grass, Linda spotted this young Northern Red-Bellied Snake. It was fast, but I caught it. It was about 8" (20 cm) but they grow to 16" (40 cm). Apparently, they eat a lot of slugs and such and are not an endangered or threatened species. Neat little critter. I haven't seen one of these before; not that I can remember, anyway. After a minute, I put it back in the grass where were found it and it slithered off. You cannot see it in this image but it does have a pinkish-orange belly.

Ontario Sssnakes! (quick reference guide).

Ontario snake facts.

Lots of turtles out today, too! They have awakened from their winters slumber. Toads and frogs soon, I expect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.