Skyroad

By Skyroad

Courtown: Vacancy for Vacancy

Something about the harbour in Courtown.

Having arrived late at my inlaws in Wexford (had to take Lola to the vet), and eating a a light lunch, I offered to drive the wean and his cousin Ron to the playground, if they'd let me take a few photographs at the harbour. In the event, they were very patient and sat in the car, buffeted by sea winds and gusts of rain while I kept scrambling back out to try to catch something of the wild, edge-of-everything spirit that seems poised there.

In the playground they climbed and swung with another group of kids, all happily getting soaked while their parents sat in the cars watching.

Later back to the house and a lovely Easter meal (goose) followed by a lovlier surprise, a birthday cake with a row of little candles which I blew out with the wean and Nika, the youngest child. 'Are you 11?' she asked, as there were 11 candles. 'Yes', I said, amn't I ancient?'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.