annamariahill4

By annamariahill4

Walkies!

Here is my MonoMonday: transport blip.

I thought it looked as if this chappie was taking his glider for a walk!

We spent a very enjoyable hour at the Wolds Gliding Club watching the gliders take off and land. They are only airborne for about 4 minutes at a time. Depending on the wind direction they are either towed into the air by another plane or by a mechanical winch. Either way they gain height very quickly.

I was invited to sit in the cockpit of one of the gliders and a very well informed young man explained how all the controls worked. It appeared to require a great deal of hand, eye and foot co-ordination. Not my strong point.

It turned out that said young man, aged 15 was the youngest person in the UK to hold a full gliding licence. I am in total awe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.