JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

A New Dawn...

It was my friend Dawn's 50th birthday today, an auspicious birth-date she shares with The Queen and my mother-in-law!
To mark the occasion a group of us walked up Dumgoyne - one of the most identifiable landmarks in the north of Glasgow.
It was a fine day although it was very blowy! It's a three hour walk up and down but the final 'up' bit can be hard going - especially in high winds.
As you can see from this shot, Dawn is a very stylish lady... even in a force 10 ;)
I reckon she looks like something out of the film, The English Patient, in this picture.
I first met Dawn years ago when she was manager of Vidal Sassoon in Glasgow. When she went freelance, she used to come to my house and give me a Vidal Sassoon-style cut in the comfort of my own kitchen.
We were pregnant at the sane time and over the years I've seen her weather many storms.
She is some cookie. Fun, tough, vulnerable, bright, stylish, a loyal friend and never ever dull.
A birthday walk in the Easter sunshine seemed exactly the right way to celebrate her big birthday after a tough couple of years.
Happy Birthday Dawn! ❤️


I just realised too that BBC2 broadcast for first time on April 21, 1964. More by accident than design as a massive power cut in London wiped out the opening night on April 20!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.