Bacchanalian celebrations

If I've counted correctly then this is my 365th consecutive blip. Obviously something you'd want to celebrate with a wee refreshment in a restrained manner befitting someone of my advanced age – and I've thrown in a selfie for good measure. Bear in mind that I am nowhere near as buff as this. Photoshop is a marvellous thing don't you think?. (My apologies to Caravaggio for mucking around with his painting 'Bacchus' variously dated between c 1596 and 1600.)

During these past 365 days there have been many times when there seemed to be nothing to photograph and days when things just fell into your lap, photographs I liked but no one else seemed to, photographs in other journals that you just had to wonder at and could only guess as to how they were done.

I made the decision at the start of my journal to use only my Olympus compact camera throughout the year to try and see how far I could push it, and sometimes the results weren't too bad I suppose. The big decision now is, do I continue blipping and do I upgrade to a better camera with a zoomy lens and aperture choices other than cloudy, sunshine and sunset?

I think I'll try and not take a photograph tomorrow and see how I get on with that. It will certainly be strange, and can I bear to see a gap in my blip calendar? I need another drink at the thought...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.