Fibreandfotos

By Fibreandfotos

Passion Flower

Nature has its cycles. I have my cycles, too. By nature and temperament, I tend toward repetition and routine for the comfort they provide. I'm learning to incorporate some deliberate change, especially as it relates to blipfoto. I find I am seeking new routes, and learning which ones are conducive for photographs at certain times or in specific weather conditions.
This is the first time in my intermittent passings-by that I've noticed the blossoms. I had often wondered what the trailing, vine-like plant was that did such a great job covering a chain link fence. Its fruit ranged from greenish to dull purple, and about the size of a large lime. I showed my photo to a young girl at work, who told me what it was and proceeded to confirm by looking it up on her smart phone.
Apparently the Passion Flower was so named because of the symbolism given to its parts as they related to the Passion of the Lord. This is what I found about the flowers, which only last a day in many species.
The pointed tips of the leaves were taken to represent the Holy Lance. The vine tendrils represent whips used in the scourging. The ten petals and sepals represent the ten faithful apostles (excluding Judas Iscariot, the betrayer and Peter the denier.) The flower's radial filaments, which vary from flower to flower and can number more than a hundred, represent the crown of thorns. The chalice-shaped ovary with its receptacle represents the Holy Grail. The 3 stigmas represent the 3 nails and the 5 anthers below them the 5 wounds (4 by nails and one by the lance.) The blue and white colors found in many species' flowers represent Heaven and Purity. Very timely, as I took this photo on Holy Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.