Today I invited a stranger in for lunch

A tall man pushing a cartfull of belongings was crossing our driveway as I was turning in to the farm. Hadn't I seen this before? "Hi, how are you? Piet, you say? What's your story?" - "I'm walking from Cape Town to Cairo" - "Really? Do you know Jean Beliveau? He passed this way ten or so years ago with a cart just like yours (and looks a bit like you, too)" - "Yes, I do!" - "Please will you join us for lunch?"
It turns out that Piet Pieterson, from The Netherlands, is a month into his journey. He tells us that Jean (a Canadian who spent a night on the farm all those years ago and managed to walk around the world in just over eleven years) is an inspiration to him. Piet plans to reach Cairo in three years, travelling along the eastern side of Africa. We have no doubt he'll get there. Enjoy the walk, Piet!
Piet's version here.
Piet's Facebook page : W2W Afrika
Jean Beliveau's website : wwwalk.org

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.