Something new!!

I attended a brooch making class in Saffron Walden this morning. Great fun and most interesting!! The process involves covering wooden buttons with Japanese paper and includes old buttons. The brooch that I made is bottom right in the picture.

I bought some wooden buttons, but they are so nice I don’t know if I want to cover them, also they are so expensive (£4 for the big one)!! You can cover plastic ones, so might give that a try. The Japanese paper is also expensive, £10 for a sheet slightly smaller than a sheet of wrapping paper.

Seeing what was being used reminded me of a pack of paper that I was given at an ISPOG conference in Edinburgh 10 years ago. The Japanese society was hosting the following conference so were advertising and giving small Japanese gifts!!

I knew the paper was somewhere safe in the house. Just goes to prove that if you keep something long enough you will find a purpose for it. I have just opened the pack for the first time and the papers are beautiful.

Dashed home after the class to attend my afternoon threads group session.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.