The second half of life..

By twigs

Blimey O Riley!

Found this wee gem whilst I was waiting for someone to look at my van (it has a worrying leak). He said he'd be 'just a minute' talking with another customer. 10 minutes later I was still waiting so I wandered a bit and found what appeared to be a graveyard for old Rileys around the back. Imagine a road trip in this wee thing....! Now that would be something!

Went back but the guy was still talking. Decided instead to shoot up the road to pick up some hinges for a cupboard door that needed fixing. That should have been a 2 minute job. Not so. The old hinge was very slightly different to the new hinge. This chap thought he'd be able to 'fix' it but would need the door to fix it to. Off home (fortunately only 2 minutes up the road) to get the door then back to him. He started the 'fix' only to realise that it wouldn't work afterall. We brainstormed some ideas, came up with a new plan then he set about doing it. Half an hour later I walked out with a door with 2 new hinges and a smile - what a great guy, great service with a great manner.

Back to the van man. He'd shut up shop and gone home for the day! I guess I'll be going back to see him tomorrow.

At least I got a blip from him ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.