A field of Lights

Despite His Lordship's absence, having had an early departure for the hills, I denied myself the pleasure of your company for a virtual coffee in the Dower House because the token offering me a free hot drink and a cake within the generous portals of John Lewis was burning an April sized hole in my purse.

It was rather pleasant to sit on a comfortable settee with my coffee and flapjack while I read the paper, albeit with the noisy yelps and screams of yet another 18 month year old intent on holding us hostage.

As I threaded my way home through the burgeoning number of tourists, I was amazed to see the field of lights in St Andrew Square still in place, vying now for attention with the tulips and flowering cherry trees in the garden.

The city centre is busy with Easter tourists, although it is still possible at this early stage in the season to manage to pick a way through relatively easily.
There were a number of families traipsing about, a father carrying a camera, 2 or 3 young teenage children empty handed, and a mother with rucksack on her back - the load bearer of the family's requirements. It happens in this house too!

Having more or less given up watching the Television adaptation of Jamaica Inn which has been screened for the last two evenings on BBC1 because I couldn't hear what was being said and thought I was going deaf, I was relieved to read I wasn't alone and many people couldn't make out the words. Bad Show BBC!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.