Soldier on

I know you're probably sick of hearing about my ankles, and believe me I'm sick of my ankles too, but this is getting really frustrating now.

My run again today was sore, my left ankle just isn't right. I had a good run the other day and I've now figured out why - I had no ankle support on. Every time I run with the K-tape on, it's tough.

So here's my theory - I have no idea if it makes sense to anyone else, but it does in my head. The strapping is making me run in a different way, a way that I'm not used to, therefore my muscles haven't been built up in that way, yet. So no support means I can lapse back into my old, comfy, lazy style of running. With support it means it's tough, but it'll get stronger if I just soldier on. My left leg is relearning how to run.

But until it gets stronger it's frustrating. And it's sore. And the calf pain means that I'm running a good 1.30-2 minutes off my regular pace.

It's annoyingly slow.
I'm barely out of breath.
My lungs don't even feel like they're working.
My heart rate isn't as high as it should be.
My quads are screaming at me to go faster.
My right leg can't figure out what the problem is,

My left leg can't go any faster. In fact, it's a struggle even going at all. I know I'll get there and it's not the end of the world. All I can do is keep going.

In other news, there were three things going on:

Happy St George's Day.
Happy anniversary of birth/death day William Shakespeare.
I went back to work today (note the omission of the word happy)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.