Desperately seeking

By clickychick

A Dragon Hunt

I realised early this morning that it was St. Georges Day today. I find it a nice challenge to do something for each of the Patron Saints of GB every year, but this year I couldn't think of a different angle until I was busy telling The Man, just in case he needed any inspiration.

I then remembered I had filed away, in the dusty cabinet of my mind, a church window. That's it!

I picked up The Mother to go shopping and said I was just popping into church first to get my blip. Wrong! As soon as I stepped into our huge village church I realised it was a red devil our windows had, not a dragon!

We had coffee, we shopped, we had lunch, she had her hair done then we were off again. I remembered where I had seen a dragon - St Peter's, Askham. Wrong! Their windows were unadorned.

Well, it must be up the hill at St Michael's, Lowther. Correct! Above the alter.

All this time The Mother had enjoyed seeing the village where my ancestors had lived and worshipped.

Happy St George's Day to all!

EDIT: See the comments. I have made a big mistake, it seems that this will be St Michael. Roll on September 29th and I can wish you a Happy St. Michael's day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.