Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

Landscape masters

I was lucky to be in Scarborough for a talk at Yorkshire Coast College Westwood campus by two of Britain's finest landscape photographers, David Ward and Joe Cornish. To hear one give a talk would be special enough, but both are friends who generously gave up their day to give a joint talk to art students, and a few others like me, organised by fine art tutor and friend, Kane Cunningham.
I always like to hear photographers give talks about their work, as photography is such a 'closed in' medium where only the photographer sees the picture through the viewfinder and knows the moment to trip the shutter, the thought process instant and intuitive. Joe particularly gave an excellent overview of the process he goes through regarding light, composition, space, and relationships in his work, with David following many of the same principles (don't all good photographers?) but creating very different landscape photographs.
I could have asked endless questions, to which both would happily have discussed their thoughts, but it was the students day, and I had the chance to chat while I shot this portrait of them.
I hope it meets at least a few of their criteria for photos...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.